HTTPS Mixed Content Warning: Mootools 1.2 and SexyLightBox

Though my Victorian sensibilities make it awkward for me to publicly discuss something called SexyLightBox, I will endure the embarassment for you, my semi-devoted readership.

In TEST we got a HTTP Mixed Content Warning on one of our pages. This is the well-known pop-up that says:

“This page contains both secure and nonsecure items. Do you want to display the non secure items”

.

Since this was a Journey Of Pain I undertook last year, I have healed/suppressed the horrible memories somewhat (along with the ones where I have been abducted by aliens) but the email trail from my outbox allows us to sketchily reconstruct the events.

So I was visited by a vicious UAT tester who, for the purposes of this JOP, was dressed as Lord Monster Raving Loony and carrying a wheelbarrow full of freshly slain ferrets. “The page contains contains both secure and nonsecure items.”, it salivated with disarming charm, “Care For A Ferrett ??”.

“Certainly”, I said lighting one up. “Isn’t that simply due to stochastic fluctuation in maximum latewood density, otherwise known as The Divergence Problem and hence not my fault ?”.

LMRL narrowed twenty-seven of its available fourty-six grotesque eyeballs, forcing them into a reptilian version of the Mexican Wave. “UAT FAIL” it hissed, drew heavily on the ferrett, incinerating it to its toenails and prompty vanished in a cloud of sulphur.

Awfully alone, I started a forensic examination of THINGS DOWNLOADED BY OUR PROBLEM PAGE i.e. images and javascript files. I did indeed find a few images accessed by http instead of https and found the problem went away if I did this AND ALSO commented out mootools 1.2 javascript file. Somewhere in the wild, the ZenPhoto support blog to be exact, I found an article which did indeed appear to nail the uncompressed version of Mootools as a source of Mixed Content Warnings.

Since I could not find an uncompressed version of Mootools 1.2, I downloaded v1.2.5 uncompressed, whacked it in and acheived temporary relief, except that now (blush) AttractiveLightBox.js issued js errors. Curses that pernicious little flirt, let me be direct, SexyLightBox has a dependence on Mootools 1.2.

So I investigated further and found that NaughtyLightBox ignored the document protocol for its image download. Here she is in all her wanton shame:

if(Browser.Engine.trident4)
this.strBG = this.options.imagesdir+’/’+this.options.color+’/’+this.options.backgroundIE;
else
this.strBG = this.options.imagesdir+’/’+this.options.color+’/’+this.options.background;

The Fix

I fixed this by adding a dynamic call for the page protocol to the image path like so:

if(Browser.Engine.trident4)
this.strBG = document.location.protocol + this.options.imagesdir+’/’+this.options.color+’/’+this.options.backgroundIE;
else
this.strBG = document.location.protocol + this.options.imagesdir+’/’+this.options.color+’/’+this.options.background;

Mootools.js was not the issue, though commenting out caused the mixed-content warning to go away because there is a dependence on Mootools from censoredlightbox.

Moral Of The Story
Beware of javascript files that ignore document protocol for image download.

Now if you’ll excuse me I must go cover some table legs with a very long tablecloth.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

