Passed MCTS 70-536 Application Development Foundation. No Botulism.

Three cheers for me.

Since my MCSD in VB.NET for Framework 1.1 seemed about as relevant as expertise in developing stone-tool based UIs I decided to forge toward MCTS.

I passed 70-536 this morning with a scorching score of 947.
All credit to Actual Tests, of course.

I celebrated with a Two Choices On Boiled Rice for $A7.00 from Arike Japanese Take-Away in the local Food Court and do not yet have Botulism which makes it a double-win morning.

IFAQ
So now I’m your man if you want to say, define a Dynamic Assembly, load it into a child Application Domain and then save it to disk – one of the perhaps more obscure highlights of what Microsoft feels is Foundational Framework knowledge.

Q&A
Of 40 questions there were only four questions which were not in the Actual Tests package. Of these one was a straightforward question about Threading, two were about IComparable (e.g. implementing type-safe IComparable) and one was a completely sick question about the ConfigurationElement class and how you use it to read a ConfigurationSection in conjunction with its DeserialiseElement method. That one was indistinguishable from encrypted Swahili but judging from the results I apparently got it right.

The test covered a broad area and I would say I was fairly fortunate with the selection I got served up. Only one question on Encryption and only one on Compression. About four on Globalisation.

So now I am one third of a MCPD or half an MCTS depending on how you slice it. Which puts me at least equal to this nine-year-old girl from Tamil Nadu. I have a horrific feeling of destiny that she will be my next Project Manager.

One thing about the Microsoft self-study materials, the examples on Encryption, Compression and many other topics are nowhere near as advanced as those in the Actual Tests package. It doesn’t seem right. The self-study materials should match the complexity and range of the exams but they don’t.

The official Microsoft self-study materials should be sufficient to pass the Microsoft exams.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

